//
you're reading...
Forgetful Moments

Reflections – Being in Your 30’s

Funny how life works. When we talk about casting for our TV shows, there’s always an age group that we talk about. 

“I need someone who’s in their 30’s for this/that role” 

Suddenly you realize that you ARE in the 30’s age group! The people that you have been looking into to casts as managers, working people, a doctor, a nurse, a philanthropist etc. You are with them. The people you are looking for looks like you. How weird is that? 

Another reflection, the first time I watched Bridget Jones Diary, I was 18 years old and how I loved that movie! A lot! I don’t know why but I wanted to be like her or grow up to that age. Her wittiness and wisdom exudes confidence and self awareness. Independence and courage which I craved for at that age! 

So I just watched it again recently and what do you know, she was 30 years old in the story! I’m now 33! I was like her! Or at least I went through her age! 

I honestly can’t understand the feelings really. Perhaps it’s being horrified that you’re at that age? Or perhaps that you have grown older than the movie or the character you loved? 

I’m not sure. I’m still digesting it. But food for thought…

Last but not least, the first time I watched Labyrinth starring Jennifer Connelly and David Bowie, it was when my Sister played a rerun on tape at home. I was maybe 6 or 7 years old. Since the time I watched till now, the film is about 27 years old. The film itself is 30 years old this year… How apt! 

I’m not sure this reflection is doing good for my self esteem…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Postings

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Monthly Vomits

Instagram

#theamans haha can't believe I succumbed to the hashtag πŸ˜‚ Anyway Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri semua! The Geylang Pasar on eve of Raya. Hope everyone got what they need and had a fulfilling fasting πŸ€—#hariraya2017 It's fridaaaaaayyyyyy! #dre It was a long day today. #dre Furry bundle. "Like a graceful vase, a cat, even when motionless, seems to flow" - George F. Will
Sleeping tabby at a fish market. #singaporecat Bad ass #aliencovenant ad 😱❀️ Missing le kitties! 😭 Kong Island. Slow mo shot. πŸ˜‚ Can't wait!!! #aliencovenant #may10
