//
you're reading...
Random Happiness

The View From Cheap Seats

Oh not at all Mr Gaiman. I’m truly thankful that I bought your book because it propelled me to write again… On my blog! 

Well as you can see the title is from a new book by Neil Gaiman. It’s surprisingly not fiction! And how hooked I was by the title first and then a quote. As I scan the cover, at the TOP of the page writes a quote from a reader, Caitlin Moran, which reads:
“If this book came to you during a despairing night, by dawn you would believe in ideas and hope and humans again.” 
What an interesting thing to be saying! So I looked in to read the first page. And yep. A winner. Usually there’s 3 things that would hook me to a book. The first would be the cover, second the title, third is the first words or sentences of the book and a bonus fourth would be the quotes or drawings that may be attached to it.

This book had 4 things! 

His first piece in the book was such a fresh read and what I needed to believe again… In myself. Either from being a person with thoughts, ideas or just having a piece of mind of my own. And staying true to it.  I realised as I grew up that I lost that sense of being. Being able to write my thoughts or be who I am. Be critical, believe and just write what I think I want to write. What I became was, I became numb. 

Or perhaps age brought me to where I am? I don’t know. But I do know I miss my old me. The one who writes whatever she wants. Post up anything that inspires her, despises her, and saying what she truly feels. 

Mayhap I may find it again but reading this book brought me back to the past and memories of my younger days. My experiences. What an awesome feeling it is! Like a breath of fresh air. And so it is true Mr Gaiman, 

“We who make stories know that we tell lies for a living. But they are good lies that say true things, and we owe it to our readers to build them as best we can. Because somewhere out there is someone who needs that story. Someone who will grow up with a different landscape, who without that story will be a different person. And who with that story may have hope, or wisdom, or kindness, or comfort. 

And that is why we write. ” 

You made me write again. So thank you! 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Postings

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Monthly Vomits

Instagram

Sunset in Krabi #tbt Finally left office before dark! What a treat! πŸ™πŸŽ‰πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸ˜‚#submittedfirasat Nice chocolate! Bought from iHerb. It was just 40cents! Chocolate + Cat = All's well. πŸ˜πŸ‘πŸ» #catsg Huge windmills. #tbt #rotterdam Its nice to be reading again. Need some revival again. @simplethingsmag #simplethings #metime Finally met Tiger. Super friendly kitty who wants a LOT of attention. I hope the Neighbours won't complain abt his loud meowing. 😣He just needs some love. πŸ’— My Sister finally got married last night! What a telemovie journey it was... but alhamdulillah all ended with relief and happiness. Will miss you suster! πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚πŸ˜˜ @oringesouffle  @thelensprojectsg Nice streets. Freaking cold too. And part of the small river on the left is frozen!  #rotterdam #iffr Blessed to have the opportunity to be here. 🌬 Shadows on set.
